Our network

New Teachers Awarded Grants | Community Spirit

Title (Max 100 Characters)

New Teachers Awarded Grants
New Teachers Awarded Grants


HOUSTON COUNTY, GA – Jonathan Bates, an English teacher at Veteran’s High School, and Seth Reber, a math teacher at Perry High School, are among 40 of Georgia’s new teachers to receive a New Teacher Assistance Grant from Georgia Power.  Neal Rearden, Area Manager for Georgia Power, will present each teacher a $1,000 New Teacher Assistance Grant on Oct. 21, at 9:00 a.m., at the Houston County Board of Education central office in Perry.

Teacher nominations were submitted to Georgia Power by the 20 Georgia public colleges and universities that have a school of education.  Reber, a graduate of the University of West Georgia, was nominated by Dr. Judy Butler.  Bates, who graduated from Macon State College, was nominated by Dr. Daniel Kirk.    

To be eligible for the grant, candidates had to:  be in the top 25 percent of their class academically; be a first-year teacher employed by a public school in Georgia; and demonstrate a high aptitude for teaching.  Each year since 2004, Georgia Power has awarded the grants to encourage new teachers to stay in the profession.  Bates and Reber may use the grants to purchase classroom supplies of their choice, such as books, educational materials and technology. 

The Houston County Board of Education is located at 1100 Main Street in Perry, Ga.  Dr. Lionel Brown serves as principal at Veterans High School and Dr. Darryl Albritton serves as principal at Perry High School.  For more information, contact Rearden at 478-987-6684, or visit www.georgiapower.com.

Perry Businesses